Christos Argyropoulos receives international electrodynamics award

March 21, 2023

By Sarah Small

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. – Christos Argyropoulos, Penn State associate professor of electrical engineering and associate research professor in the Applied Research Laboratory, is the recipient of the 2023 European Association on Antennas and Propagation (EurAAP) Leopold B. Felsen Award for Excellence in Electrodynamics. 

The award is intended to “foster academic excellence in the electromagnetics community by giving recognition to outstanding fundamental contributions from early-stage researchers in electrodynamics,” as well as “keep alive Professor Leo Felsen’s memory and scientific legacy,” according to the award webpage. Argyropoulos will be presented with the award at the 17th European Conference on Antennas and Propagation on March 29 in Florence, Italy.  

Christos is an emerging leader in nanophotonic devices that include metasurfaces, nanoantennas and metamaterials,” said Madhavan Swaminathan, department head and William E. Leonhard Professor of Electrical Engineering. “I am very pleased that he is being recognized with the EurAAP Felsen award, an honor bestowed on the very best researcher under 40 working in electrodynamics around the world. Christos conducts some of the best electrical engineering research that Penn State has to offer, and I am sure his best research contributions are yet to come.” 

Argyropoulos’ research interests span quantum and classical electrodynamic theory, novel antenna design, linear and nonlinear nanophotonics, metamaterials and metasurfaces, nanotechnology and two-dimensional materials, ultrafast laser physics and thermal emission, chiral nanostructures and extreme non-equilibrium effects based on strong light-matter interactions. He has published more than 310 technical papers in peer reviewed journals and has refereed conference proceedings.  

He has developed new advanced computational electromagnetic methods to model various systems and has pioneered novel concepts of advanced electrical engineering technologies, according to Swaminathan.  

“I am deeply honored to receive this award from the electrodynamics scientific community,” Argyropoulos said. “Prof. Leopold Felsen was a prominent figure in the area of theoretical electromagnetics and had a great influence on my career.” 

Argyropoulos has been the recipient of several awards and recognitions for his research studies, such as the 2019 Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award, 2017 Office of Naval Research Faculty Research Fellowship, 2017 International Union of Radio Science (URSI) Young Scientist Award, 2013 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Antennas and Propagation Society Junior Researcher Award, the international travel grant by Royal Academy of Engineering and twice the Marie Curie Actions Grant by the European School of Antennas. He is senior member of IEEE; SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics; and Optica. He has been elected a full member of URSI and URSI Commission B and is a member of the EurAAP, the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society and the American Physical Society. 


Share this story:

facebook linked in twitter email


College of Engineering Media Relations

"Christos conducts some of the best electrical engineering research that Penn State has to offer, and I am sure his best research contributions are yet to come.” -- Madhavan Swaminathan