School of EECS professors receive 2021 IEEE Computer Society research awards

May 23, 2022

By Mary Fetzer

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Two professors from the Penn State School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science were recently honored by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Computer Society’s Technical Community on Very Large Scale Integration. The IEEE-CS connects computer science and engineering professionals at all stages of their professional careers and its TCVLSI “addresses the interactions among the various aspects of VLSI design,” according to the society’s website.

“The IEEE-Computer Society TCVLSI is thrilled to continue to recognize outstanding contributors to the field of VLSI,” said Mondira Deb Pant, chair and editor-in-chief of IEEE-CS TCVLSI. “Hearty congratulations and a big thank you to Professors Vijaykrishnan Narayan and Swaroop Ghosh.”

Vijaykrishnan Narayanan, A. Robert Noll Chair of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and Engineering, received the 2021 IEEE-CS TCVLSI Distinguished Research Award, which recognizes significant and outstanding research contributions to the VLSI community through a leadership position. To be eligible, candidates must have demonstrated research excellence for at least 10 years.

Narayanan currently serves as the founding director of Penn State’s Center for Artificial Intelligence Foundations and Engineered Systems. The new AI center, led by the School of EECS, brings together researchers from 24 academic units across Penn State to facilitate internal collaborations, technology transition and external engagement.

Swaroop Ghosh, Joseph and Janice M. Monkowski Career Development Associate Professor in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and Engineering, received the 2021 IEEE-CS TCVLSI Mid-Career Research Achievement Award. This honor recognizes both strong contributions to premier IEEE publications for at least five years and high-quality research in the field of VLSI over a period of at least 10 years.

Ghosh’s research interests include data science and artificial intelligence, integrated circuits and systems and security and privacy. He is currently working to close gaps in quantum computing security, funded by a six-figure grant from the National Science Foundation.

“Vijay and Swaroop continually generate innovative ideas that translate into practice,” said Tom LaPorta, Evan Pugh Professor, William E. Leonhard Endowed Chair and director of the School of EECS. “Each has made significant research contributions to the fields of computer science and engineering, and both are truly worthy of this important honor.”


Share this story:

facebook linked in twitter email


College of Engineering Media Relations