Five named to Big Ten Academic Alliance Department Executive Officers program


UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — The Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA) Department Executive Officers (DEO) program has gained five additional fellows from the Penn State ranks.

The BTAA is the academic consortium of the Big Ten universities and the United States’ preeminent model for effective collaboration among research universities. Through its leadership program, participants who have demonstrated exceptional ability through University administrative assignments or other significant positions in public, private or professional organizations are aided in further developing their leadership and managerial skills.

Penn State’s participants for the 2020-21 program were selected based on their significant contributions and potential to achieve even more as University leaders. The participants are:

  • Laszlo Kulcsar, department head, agricultural economics, sociology, and education, and professor of rural sociology and demography, College of Agricultural Sciences
  • Henock Louis, chair of accounting department and KPMG professor of accounting, Smeal College of Business
  • Marvin Overby, director, school of public affairs, Penn State Harrisburg
  • Amy Pritchett, department head, aerospace engineering, College of Engineering
  • Sanjay Srinivasan, department head, energy and mineral engineering, College of Earth and Mineral Sciences

The DEO Fellows will participate in a seminar April 8-10, 2021, at the Big Ten Conference Center in Chicago. The event will focus on departmental leadership skills, the challenges facing DEOs, and broader issues.

For more information on the BTAA DEO Program, visit


Share this story:

facebook linked in twitter email


Megan Lakatos